May 20-21, 2020

Cancellation of Refocus on Recovery CANADA 2020

Since the World Health Organization called a global pandemic on March 11, 2020 in response to the increasing spread of COVID-19, we have been working diligently behind the scenes to determine the future of Refocus on Recovery CANADA 2020.

Following our initial postponement of the event in April, we engaged in a series of discussions with our partners, stakeholders and public health officials to explore both in-person and virtual options that could allow us to move forward with our inaugural event.

However, given the global uncertainty remaining around the pandemic and considering the initial objectives which motivated the organizing of an in-person event, we feel the only option at this time is to officially cancel Refocus on Recovery CANADA 2020.

We are deeply disappointed that we cannot move forward with the conference. However, we are grateful for your support, interest and passion for recovery in mental health.

In the coming days all registrants and vendors will be refunded on the credit card used to secure their attendance. Registrants and vendors who used an alternative form of payment will be refunded by cheque. 

Although we are unable to collaborate in person, we are excited to offer presenters the opportunity to have their abstract submissions published in the Journal of Recovery in Mental Health, an open access peer-reviewed journal published by Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Sciences (Ontario Shores), one of the organizing partners behind Refocus on Recovery CANADA 2020. If you wish have your abstract published, please reply to this email with your consent.

Your patience and understanding have been appreciated as we worked through the decision-making process.

Ontario Shores, the Mental Health Commission of Canada and the national office of the Canadian Mental Health Association remain committed to recovery in mental health and determined to shine a light on the wonderful work being done in this space around the globe.

We look forward to future opportunities to advance this work as partners in recovery.

For inquiries please contact communications@ontarioshores.ca.

 

Regards,

Darryl Mathers
Organizing Committee – Refocus on Recovery CANADA 2020

May 20-21, 2020

Annulation du Nous recentrer sur le rétablissement CANADA 2020

Depuis que l'Organisation mondiale de la santé a déclaré une pandémie mondiale le 11 mars 2020 en réponse à la propagation croissante du COVID-19, nous avons travaillé avec diligence dans les coulisses pour déterminer l'avenir de Nous recentrer sur le rétablissement CANADA 2020.

À la suite de notre report initial de l'événement en avril, nous avons engagé une série de discussions avec nos partenaires, intervenants et responsables de la santé publique pour explorer les options en personne et virtuelles qui pourraient nous permettre d'aller de l'avant avec notre événement inaugural.

Cependant, étant donné l'incertitude mondiale qui subsiste autour de la pandémie et compte tenu des objectifs initiaux qui ont motivé l'organisation d'un événement en personne, nous pensons que la seule option pour le moment est d'annuler officiellement la conference Nous recentrer sur le rétablissement CANADA 2020.

Nous sommes profondément déçus de ne pas pouvoir continuer avec la conférence. Cependant, nous sommes reconnaissants de votre soutien, de votre intérêt et de votre passion pour le rétablissement en santé mentale.

Dans les prochains jours, tous les inscrits et les vendeurs seront remboursés sur la carte de crédit utilisée pour garantir leur participation. Les inscrits et les vendeurs qui ont utilisé un autre mode de paiement seront remboursés par chèque.

Bien que nous ne puissions pas collaborer en personne, nous sommes ravis d'offrir aux présentateurs la possibilité de publier leurs résumés dans le ‘Journal of Recovery in Mental Health’, une revue à comité de lecture en libre accès publiée par Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Sciences (Ontario Shores), l'un des partenaires organisateurs de Nous recentrer sur le rétablissement CANADA 2020. Si vous souhaitez que votre résumé soit publié, veuillez répondre à cet e-mail avec votre consentement.

Votre patience et votre compréhension ont été appréciées tout au long du processus décisionnel.

Ontario Shores, la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada et le bureau national de l'Association canadienne pour la santé mentale demeurent engagés pour le rétablissement de la santé mentale et déterminés à mettre la lumière sur le merveilleux travail accompli dans cet espace partout dans le monde.

Nous attendons avec impatience les possibilités futures de faire progresser ce travail en tant que partenaires en rétablissement.

 

Cordialement,

Darryl Mathers

Comité d'organisation – Nous recentrer sur le rétablissement CANADA 2020